Costa Rica – Happiest Country on Earth

All of the hype about Costa Rica is true. It really is a magical little land with the nicest people you will ever meet! I can see why it has become such a popular vacation and retiree location with its vast beaches that blend right into the jungle and the laid-back vibes.

IMG_2164I stayed at Danyasa Eco Yoga Resort for a yoga and surf retreat in Dominical. For my first time in Costa Rica, Iย  could not have asked for a better experience! Danyasa is a completely sustainable resort made completely from recycled shipping containers and their bamboo yoga play outdoor studio is a magical space surrounded by the jungle and overlooking the Baru River. Danyasa partners with the surf school down the street to offer surf and yoga daily for guests which is what I did. What a great week of pushing limits physically while also soaking up the relaxing vibes of Dominical!

IMG_2116Dominical is a small town on the south-easern coast. It only had one main road but had all the restaurants and shops you could ask for! Highly recommend the Cafe Mono Congo for morning coffee (may or may not be obsessed with Costa Rican coffee now) and the cute Sushi restaurant right on the river! If you want to go out for a nice dinner, I’d check out PorQueNo. Very pretty and romantic but also on the pricey side. The beaches there were amazing and the waves were perfect for me to learn to surf on. There was also a waterfall hike we heard about which was absolutely amazing. You literally climb up through the river at some points so be prepared shoe-wise but the waterfall at the top was perfect reward for the hard work. Swimming in a rain forest waterfall has always been on my list of to-dos and it really was as beautiful as expected.

Have you ever been on a yoga retreat? They are so magical, I hope it is something every Yogi is able to experience at least once in their life. I think I would like it to be a once a year thing for me in the future (a bit to expensive to afford on my current budget unfortunately) but such an amazing way to connect with yourself and like-minded people from all over the world. I ended up making good friends with a girl from Germany, a girl from Boston (who now lives in AUS teaching yoga, congrats Chelsea!)

The only warning I have to first-timers to Costa Rica is to expect any travel from San Jose to wherever your destination to be slow going. We took a driver from Dominical back to San Jose and had a bit of a crisis thinking we were going to miss our flight…it ended up getting way delayed anyways. The joys of traveling ๐Ÿ™‚ But then you get views like below and suddenly everything is worth it.

10922473_10153003882096240_4267121476581747980_n

I think my next trip to Costa I want to check out more of the north-western jungle regions. Anyone have any suggestions!?

Leave a Reply

