Pineapple chickpea tikka masala

Pineapple Chickpea Tikka Masala Recipe

Hello hello! Here to share one of my most favorite recipes lately, a vegan pineapple chickpea tikka masala dish. I originally found the recipe here, so check out her original post for the exact directions as I will just share ingredients on here. And rant about how great and easy this is to make of course 🙂

Chris and I started making this dish while we were in London and I’m regretting not stocking up on the masala paste that I found there. I have yet to find same one back here in the states but Trader Joe’s and Publix have a few similar options. I’ve included the ingredients from the recipe below with some notes on how I’ve adapted it for this tropical infused Indian dish!

Pineapple group

Ingredients

  • 1 cup basmati rice (I usually make a little more to balance out how spicy I make the sauce and to make sure we have plenty for left overs)
  • 1 1/2 cup water or low sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp vegan butter
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced thin
  • 1 tbsp garam masala
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp coriander
  • 2 tsp tikka masala
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • 2, 15oz cans of organic chickpeas
  • 2 cups marinara sauce (I have been putting this in at the end to taste since the first time I made it I found 2 cups to be a lot. Most of the store bought tikka masala sauces I’ve found already come premixed with a tomato base as the lead ingredient as well.)
  • 1, 15oz can full fat coconut milk
  • 2 tsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder for thickness (I’ve made it without every time and it has been great so this is optional)
  • 1-2 pineapples, cut lengthwise and meat scooped out (we add most of the meat & juice to the chickpea mixture before serving)
  • fresh cilantro to top

I’m pretty sure the toughest part of this is carving out the pineapple to use as serving dishes. But look how nice of a presentation it makes!  I’m looking forward to making this for all of my friends once I move into my new place. It looks and sounds complicated but really is so easy to put together.

I hope you enjoy!!

Pineapple chickpea tikka masala

Leave a Reply

