Stela 9 – Beautifully Hand Made in Guatemala

Have you ever noticed that awesome denim jacket I’m always wearing in my photos? I mean, I think its awesome of course, but I’m only saying this because I get TONS of compliments on it and all my other pieces from them…basically every time I wear it. I wanted to share more info about the brand Stela 9 because they do a lot more than make beautiful statement piece apparel and accessories!

All of Stela 9’s pieces are handmade with local artisans in Antigua, Guatemala. So all of their things are not only adorable but also directly contribute to the livelihood and sustainability of the indigenous communities that these cherished items travel from.
The company was founded in the summer of 2010 by an archaeology assistant with a love of Mayan culture, artisan leather crafting and weaving traditions. (Who may or may not be one of the coolest role models I’ve ever met!) The lines are created through sourcing precious stones, recycled textiles and local leathers that represented the worldly aesthetic and the importance of preserving cultural traditions of artisans throughout Latin America.

Stela 9 – Always ethical, always loved.

Stela 9 handmade in Guatemala

Along with my denim jacket, I also scored 3 of my favorite boots, 4 leather bags and 2 adorable structured hats from their warehouse sale in Newport last year. Yes, I know, what are the chances of my favorite brand having a warehouse RIGHT DOWN THE STREET from me? Since then I’ve basically lived in all of them I love them that much…and the hats make great decoration hung on the wall when you’re not using them!

So what are you waiting for, check out their website! I know they just released their June/July capsules and I saw they posted about a half off sale on Instagram today. Time to stock up on your new favorite sustainable pieces!!

Stela 9 Sustainable Fashion - Must Love Sunshine

Leave a Reply

