Book Club: The ONE Thing By Gary Keller 

Hey everyone! I’ve been reading up a storm lately (among doing a million other things, like starting some freelance projects..more to come on that.) and I’ve been wanting to kick off my “Book Club” posts. Where better to start than with The ONE Thing by Gary Keller.

What It’s about

The ONE Things is about just that…finding the one thing in your life that means the most to focus all/most of your attention and time on. This can be interpreted into any form, whether its your career, your personal life, your family life, or spirituality. Keller breaks down into simplicity how to cut through clutter of unimportant things and to get extraordinary results in regards to your “one thing.”

Why I Read It

Apparently The ONE Thing has had about 275 appearances on national bestseller lists, was voted one of Top 100 Business Books of All Time on Goodreads and has a bunch of other acclaim but I found it by looking for marketing/business books. As I am in the middle of a career shift, I wanted to make sure I am focusing on the right passions in order to make the most impact in my career. I found Keller’s One Thing method so eye opening to how we approach all things in life!

Key Take Aways

The book is broken down into three sections – The Lies, The Truth, and Extraordinary Results.

In “The Lies” Keller quickly points out that not everything in our lives matters equally, so treating all tasks in our day the same is a completely ineffective way to live. You have to drive your day based on what matters the most to you and learn how to say NO! more to things that don’t.  Perfectly stated in a quote by Sreve Uzzell, “Multitasking is merely the opportunity to screw up more than one thing at a time” and unfortunately it takes a toll on  basically everything else we do.

In “The Truth” he proposed the question “What is the ONE THING I can do such that by doing it everything else will be easier or unnecessary?” This pretty much becomes the root of the rest of the book. He puts it in terms of physical health, personal life, key relationships, job, business, and finances to show how this focusing question can translate to any part of your life once you start to make a habit out of it.

Finishing with “Extraordinary Results”, one of my favorite take aways was “the prescription for extraordinary results is knowing what matters to you and taking daily doses of action in alignment with it.” Once you figure out your purpose, choices and clarity will become faster and easier in regards to all other aspects of life.  As someone who LOVES planning this chapter on goal setting and prioritizing really resonated with me. “Live with purpose and you know where you want to go. Live with priority and you’ll know what to do to get there.”

I thought this was a great read and I plan to incorporate the One Thing viewpoint and some of his techniques such as time blocking into many aspects of my life. If it sounded interesting/helpful to you I hope you find time to read it and please let me know what you think of it when you finish!

The ONE Thing Must Love Sunshine Book Club

Xx,

Jess

Leave a Reply

